Back to All Events

New York: Moving Sounds Festival: Concert - Scelsi Rediscovered: Haas, Murail, Scelsi

  • Bohemian National Hall 321 East 73rd Street New York, NY, 10021 United States (map)

The Austrian Cultural Forum is pleased to invite to a concert which marks the culmination of this year's Moving Sounds Festival. Performed by New York's own Argento Ensemble, the program includes Giancinto Scelsi's famous violin concert Anahit as well as pieces by Tristan Murail and the US. Premiere of Georg Friedrich Haas' Introduction und Transsonation - in the presence of the composer.

More information on Moving Sounds: >>here


Argento Ensemble

Conductor: Michel Galante
Flute: Lance Suzuki, Roberta Michel, Jill Sokol
English horn: Kathy Halvosron
Clarinet: Carol McGonnell, Vasko Dukovski
Saxophone: Alex Hamlin
Horn: Karl Kramer, Laura Weiner
Trumpet: Paul Murphy
Trombone: Will Lang, Nicole Abissi
Violin: Doori Na, Keats Diffenbach
Viola: Stephanie Griffin, Melissa Reardon
Cello: Serafim Smigelskiy, John Popham
Bass: Brian Ellingsen, Kris Saebo

Violin soloist: Hanna Hurwitz


Tristan MURAIL:
      Ma Soeur for solo viola
      Les Ruines Circulaire for violin and clarinet
      Feuilles a Travers les Cloches for violin, flute, piano and cello

Giacinto SCELSI:
      Anahit for chamber orchestra and solo violin

Georg Friedrich HAAS:
     Introduktion und Transsonation for chamber orchestra and tape


Born in 1953 in Graz, Austria, Georg Friedrich Haas is one of the most important contemporary composers today. His works were performed at festivals like Wien Modern (Vienna), Musikprotokoll (Graz), Witten, Huddersfield, Royaumont, Venice Biennale, Festival d'Automne (Paris), as well as at the Darmstädter Ferienkurse and the Salzburg Festival. Since 2005, Haas has lectured at the Hochschule in Basel, Switzerland; from Septmber 2013 on, Haas has been a Professor of Composition at Columbia University, New York.