Austrian Pianist Mark Damisch in Concert for Friendship and Peace

When: Friday, August 8, 2014 | 7:30 p.m.

Where: Austrian Cultural Forum (Embassy of Austria) | 3524 International Court NW | Washington, DC 20008

Admission: FREE | Please register for this event at

On August 8, 2014, the Austrian Cultural Forum Washington presents a classical music evening featuring a concert for friendship and peace by Austrian pianist Mark Damisch. Mr. Damisch will play a classical mix comprised of the following pieces:

Romanian Folk Dances | Béla Bartók
Romanian Folk Dances is a suite of six short piano pieces composed by Hungarian composer Béla Bartók in 1915. He later orchestrated it for a small ensemble in 1917 as Sz. 68, BB 76. It is based on seven Romanian tunes from Transylvania, originally played on fiddle or the shepherd's flute.

Piano Sonata No. 23 | Beethoven
Ludwig van Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57 (colloquially known as the Appassionata, meaning "passionate" in Italian) is among the three famous piano sonatas of his middle period (the others being the Waldstein, Op. 53 and Les Adieux, Op. 81a); it was composed during 1804 and 1805, and perhaps 1806, and was dedicated to Count Franz von Brunswick. The first edition was published in February 1807 in Vienna.

Wanderer Fantasy | Schubert
The Fantasie in C major, Op. 15 (D. 760), popularly known as the Wanderer Fantasy, is a four-movement fantasy for solo piano composed by Franz Schubert in November 1822. It is widely considered Schubert's most technically demanding composition for the piano. Schubert himself said "the devil may play it", in reference to his own inability to do so properly.